Remi Harris



Catalogue number BEARCD53



You only have to hear a few bars from one of these twelve piece to realise that Remi Harris is a virtuoso guitarist. after another half-minute it becomes obvious that there is more to his playing than exceptional technique; it has the easy poise that is normally the result of long and hard-earned experience. But the remarkable fact is, he was only 25 years old when this album was completed.


Just listen to the music on this album to get some idea of what causes all the fuss. The gypsy-jazz playing is immaculate, but there’s so much else. Like the amazing version of Charlie Parker’s “Donna Lee”, with its terrifying up-tempo twists and turns – or by contrast, the cool “There’ll Never Be Another You”, with Remi’s guitar creating a perfect match with Alan Barnes’ limpid alto saxophone. When it comes to introducing disparate influences into the basic gypsy-jazz style, I can’t think of anyone who has ever done it more boldly or convincingly.

Dave Gelly


Track Listing

  1. Perrin
  2. Joseph Joseph
  3. I’ve Done My Bit
  4. Montagne Sainte-Geneviève
  5. Lady Madonna
  6. Ninick
  7. The Man From Toledo
  8. I’ll See You In My Dreams
  9. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
  10. Donna Lee
  11. There’ll Never Be Another You
  12. Django’s Tiger

Musicians Featured

Remi Harris – Guitar

Ben Salmon – Guitar

Mike Green – Double Bass

Tom Moore – Double Bass

Alan Barnes – Saxophones and Clarinet

Ben Cummings – Trumpet


£10.00Add to cart