Bruce Adams/Alan Barnes Quintet: Side-Steppin’


Landmark debut album for tremendous bebop quintet

SKU: BEARCD38 Category:


I still get a little shock of surprise and delight whenever I hear Bruce Adams and Alan Barnes doing their stuff. It can’t be because their music is ‘challenging’ or ‘an exciting synthesis of genres’ or anything of that sort. It is perfectly clear what they are up to, which is playing bebop and its close relatives. I remain surprised and delighted because they do it, not only amazingly well, but with such enormous relish.


There is something inherently exciting about the sound of trumpet and alto saxophone playing headlong lines in unison, but they manage to make it more exciting than usual by the way they attack the phrases. Listen to the opening chorus of Hollywood Stampede for a prime example.


Dave Gelly



Track Listing:

  1. Side Steppin’
  2. Coopers Blues
  3. Toot Toot Tootsie
  4. Jitterburg Waltz
  5. Eternal Triangle
  6. The Touch Of Your Lips
  7. Opus De Funk
  8. Soft Shoe
  9. Johnny Come Lately
  10. Tin Tin Deo
  11. The Best Thing For You Is Me
  12. Ticklin’
  13. Quicksilver

Musicians featured

Bruce Adams (Trumpet and Flugelhorn)

Alan Barnes ( Alto and Baritone Saxophone)

Brian Dee (Piano)

Len Skeat ( Double Bass)

Bobby Orr (Drums)

Additional information

Weight 100 g