Since 1987 The British Jazz Awards have recognised and honoured what is best in British jazz. Always focussing on quality, rather than any current fashion, the awards have long been highly valued by jazz musicians and respected by the music media and jazz professionals.

The first stage in the process was the nomination of the four choices of The Nomination Panel [Anthony Colwyn, Bob Weir, Cole Mathieson, David Cottle, Dave Gelly, David Nathan, Denny Ilett, Dick Laurie, Fred Lindop, Gill Wilde, Jerry Brown, John Cumming, Liz Lincoln, Michael Pointon, Mike Gordon, Pablo Janczur, Peter Vacher, Roger Cotterrell and Ron Simpson]. The nominations form the basis for the voting, with four names in each category, as well as a black space in case your choice is not included in the nominations – just write in your choice and tick.

You can vote online here:

The closing date for voting is October 31st, 2014, and results will be announced in The Jazz Rag Magazine and circulated to UK Media.